Texas OutLaw Pro Mods at Texas Raceway October

Well, this is it. The final points race of the season. The championship would be settled tonight. After 2 rounds of qualifying, here’s how it all unfolded.

#1 Gaylen Smith – 3.934 at 188 mph
#2 Doug Riesterer – 4.072 at 182 mph
#3 Steve Wiley – 4.138 at 158 mph **Winner of Bonu$ money for closest to 4.15 during qualifying.
#4 Eric Clark – 4.264 at 151 mph **Winner of Bonu$ money for closest to 4.30 during qualifying.
#5 Frankie Taylor – 4.418 at 154 mph
#6 Tim Cruce – 4.451 at 168 mph
#7 Eddie Roach – 4.525 at 162 mph
#8 Jay Ligon – 4.542 at 153 mph
#9 Shane Thompson – 4.615 at 151 mph
#10 Chuck Poindexter – 4.644 at 145 mph **Best Reaction Time
#11 Perry Dunn – 4.817 at 105 mph
#12 Kevin Hargett – 6.134 at 82 mph
#13 Greg Green – 6.197 at 74 mph

First round:

Steve Wiley (W) 4.056 at 183 mph (.044 RT)
Tim Cruce (RU) 4.924 at 119 mph (.146 RT)

Wiley sat out 2nd round of qualifying to fix the zoomie he broke during first round of qualifying. Both cars peddled but Wiley came out on top.

Doug Riesterer (W) 4.317 at 137 mph (.103 RT)
Eddie Roach (RU) 4.458 at 160 mph (.030 RT)

This was a pretty close race on the track due to the reaction times. Doug was playing catch up and in the process he might have burnt something up. Eddie got the holeshot, but it wasn’t enough to hold off the monster motor in the other lane.

Gaylen Smith (W) 4.044 at 184 mph (.079 RT)
Jay Ligon (RU) 9.141 at 53 mph (.028 RT)

Jay gets the advantage on the tree but immediately blew the tires off and got sideways. Gaylen was trying a new combination and streaks by for the off-paced win. Note to self: This combination doesn’t work!

Frankie Taylor (W) 3.901 at 194 mph (.029 RT)
Eric Clark (RU) 3.980 at 152 mph (.035 RT)

Frankie gets the advantage off the tree and never looks back. Clark improved on his qualifying effort but it just wasn’t enough.


Steve Wiley (W) 4.114 at 168 mph (.110 RT) *Competition Bye
Doug Riesterer (RU) No Time

Doug hurt the motor in first round and was unable to make the call giving Wiley a bye run into the finals.

Frankie Taylor (W) 3.897 at 186 mph (.056 RT)
Gaylen Smith (RU) 4.010 at 167 mph (.059 RT)

Both cars left pretty close together but Frankie pulls away for the win.


Frankie Taylor (W) 3.894 at 196 mph (.066 RT) *Low ET & Top MPH
Steve Wiley (RU) 3.941 at 183 mph (.075 RT)

Wiley steps it up in the finals but it wasn’t enough to overcome the slight starting line advantage or the Hemi in the other lane.

Congratulations to Team Taylor for their victory and to Steve Wiley and Team TGR for their runner-up finish as well.

Congratulations to Gaylen Smith and Team TBH for the 3-peat TOPMA championship! This makes Gaylen and company a 5 time TOPMA champion which is not easy to do with all the stout competition out there!! (2003/2004; 2011/2012/2013) I’m one very proud wife!

Photo Gallery is at http://prostockcars.zenfolio.com/topmatxroct2013